Francesca Woodman: Exhibition

Next weekend is the close of the Francesca Woodman exhibition at the Victoria Miro Gallery, London. Unfortunately I haven’t been able to make it down to London to visit it, Woodman was one of my main influences all through university and seeing her work in the flesh would have really¬†made my day.¬†

I discovered her work during my first year and it wasn’t until this time that¬†I realised just how experimental, provocative and¬†¬†releasing photography could be. For those of you who aren’t familiar with her work take a look here, she took a lot of self portraits using herself and her¬†environment¬†in unusual ways within the frame of the photo. Her work inspired my own self-portrait project, which I’ve taken a look back over here after re-discovering Woodman’s work. It’d be interesting to see how I’d work on this project again¬†since graduating.¬†I¬†bought a remote control¬†for my DSLR¬†from Amazon,¬†so this project would certainly be a lot¬†easier now seeing as my self portrait project was shot entirely on 35mm film, involving a lot of props &¬†running back¬†and forth to the camera!¬†(Click on¬†images to enlarge)

2 Responses to “Francesca Woodman: Exhibition”

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

